JR: Chronicles

  • 40,00€

About

In den letzten zwei Jahrzehnten hat JR durch seine ehrgeizigen Projekte die Wirkung öffentlicher Kunst massiv ausgeweitet und damit den Menschen auf der ganzen Welt Sichtbarkeit verliehen. JR: Chronicles zeigt den gesamten Umfang der Karriere des Künstlers und begleitet die erste große Ausstellung von Werken des in Frankreich geborenen Künstlers im Brooklyn Museum in den USA.

JR arbeitet an den Schnittstellen von Fotografie, sozialem Engagement und Street Art und arbeitet mit Gemeinschaften zusammen, indem er einzelne Porträts aufnimmt, sie in monumentalem Maßstab reproduziert und sie in nahegelegene öffentliche Räume klebt.

Dieser hervorragend produzierte Band zeichnet JRs Karriere von seiner frühen Dokumentation von Graffiti-Künstlern als Teenager in Paris über seine groß angelegten architektonischen Interventionen in Städten weltweit bis zu seinen neueren digital collagierten Wandgemälden nach, die kollektive Porträts verschiedener Öffentlichkeiten erstellen. Das Herzstück der begleitenden Ausstellung ist The Chronicles of New York City, ein neues episches Wandbild von mehr als 1.000 New Yorkern. Ebenfalls enthalten sind bisher nicht sichtbare Wandbilder in Brooklyn; Face 2 Face, Diptychen von Israelis und Palästinensern in palästinensischen und israelischen Städten; Women Are Heroes mit Bildern der Augen von Frauen, die in zahlreichen Ländern auf ihre Gemeinden zurückblicken. The Gun Chronicles: Eine Geschichte von Amerika, JRs komplexe Arbeit über Waffen in Amerika; und andere ebenso berühmte Werke.

 

 

Über den Künstler:

JR (geb. 1983) ist am bekanntesten für seine monumentalen Straßenporträtprojekte mit Weizenpasten. JR hat weltweit Projekte durchgeführt. Er hat weltweit in Museen ausgestellt und ortsspezifische Werke für den Louvre, die Olympischen Spiele 2016 in Rio de Janeiro und das Centre Pompidou geschaffen.

 

 

Texte von Sharon Matt Atkins und Drew Sawyer

Gebundene Ausgabe, 232 Seiten, 90 Illustrationen

Product details

Title
JR: Chronicles
Publication Date
November 2019
Publisher
Maison CF and Brooklyn Museum
Language
English / French
Size
6,61 x 8,66 inch
16.8 x 22 cm

You may also like

Books

MadC - Street to Canvas

Books

Bitte Lebn - Urbane Kunst und Subkultur in…

Books

RACHE - The Art of Rage

Books

Alëxone Dizac, à coeur ouvert

The following 12 pages may interest you as well:

Contact US

JR: Chronicles

  • 40,00€

About

Over the past two decades, JR has massively expanded the impact of public art through his ambitious projects that give visibility to people around the world. Showcasing the full scope of the artist's career, JR: Chronicles accompanies the first major exhibition in the U.S.A. of works by the French-born artist at the Brooklyn Museum.

Working at the intersections of photography, social engagement and street art, JR collaborates with communities by taking individual portraits, reproducing them at a monumental scale and wheat pasting them in nearby public spaces.

This superbly produced volume traces JR's career from his early documentation of graffiti artists as a teenager in Paris to his large-scale architectural interventions in cities worldwide, to his more recent digitally collaged murals that create collective portraits of diverse publics. The centerpiece of the accompanying exhibition is The Chronicles of New York City, a new epic mural of more than 1,000 New Yorkers. Also included are previously unseen murals set in Brooklyn; Face 2 Face, diptychs of Israelis and Palestinians in Palestinian and Israeli cities; Women Are Heroes, featuring images of the eyes of women gazing back at their communities in numerous countries; The Gun Chronicles: A Story of America, JR's complex work on guns in America; and other equally famous works.

 

About the artist: 

JR (born 1983) is best known for his monumental, wheat-pasted street portraiture projects. JR has carried out projects across the globe. He has shown in museums worldwide and has created site specific works for the Louvre, the 2016 Rio de Janeiro Olympics and the Centre Pompidou.

 

Texts by Sharon Matt Atkins and Drew Sawyer

Hardcover, 232 pages, 90 ill.

Product details

Title
JR: Chronicles
Publication Date
November 2019
Publisher
Maison CF and Brooklyn Museum
Language
English / French
Size
6,61 x 8,66 inch
16.8 x 22 cm

You may also like

Books

Kenta Cobayashi - Reflex

Books

Hush – Berliner Clubs in Zeiten der Stille

Books

Rone - Street Art and Beyond

Books

SO36 - 1978 bis heute - Sub Opus 36 e.V.

The following 12 pages may interest you as well:

Contact US