David Bailey: Bailey's East End

  • 98,00€

About

J'ai commencé à prendre des photos dans l'East End parce que c'est de là que je viens. J'y ai vécu pendant tous les raids aériens. Quand j'avais environ trois ans et demi, l'appartement d'à côté a été rasé, nous avons donc dû déménager de Leytonstone à East Ham. J'avais six ans et demi à la fin de la guerre, et j'étais déjà habitué aux bombes. Mais je ne laisse jamais mes antécédents me limiter. J'ai vécu avec des cannibales pendant une semaine et avec les Krays pendant deux. Mais cela ne veut pas dire que je suis devenu un gangster ou que j'ai mangé des gens.

Je me promène toujours dans l'East End. Il ne s'agit pas seulement de prendre des photos là-bas. Cela fait partie de ma vie. Et je ne vois aucune raison d'arrêter de faire ce que je fais.

L'idée d'un livre sur l'East End est née dans les années 1980. Les docks de Londres avaient déjà fermé ou commençaient à fermer. J'ai décidé de photographier principalement dans les quartiers de Silvertown et de Canning Town. Au fil des ans, j'ai passé de nombreux week-ends à photographier tout ce qui me plaisait. Les deux autres fois où j'ai eu des explosions d'énergie photographique dans l'East End, c'était dans les années 1960 et de 2004 à 2010 environ, qui ont été mes trois périodes clés pour dessiner des images plutôt que de simplement fouiller dans les cinquante dernières années d'archives. À la fin des années 40 et au début des années 50, j'ai entendu une citation à la radio : "Allez dans l'Ouest, jeune homme". À l'époque, je n'y pensais pas beaucoup. Plus tard, j'ai supposé qu'il était originaire d'Amérique et qu'il remontait au milieu du XIXe siècle, lorsque la côte ouest de l'Amérique s'ouvrait à de grandes richesses et opportunités. "

 


A propos du photographe :

David Bailey est l'un des photographes britanniques contemporains les plus connus Ses autres livres de photographie publiés par Steidl comprennent Havana (2006), NY JS DB 62 (2007), Is That So Kid (2008), Eye (2009), 8 Minutes (2009) et Flowers, Skulls, Contacts (2010).

 

Product details

Title
David Bailey: Bailey's East End
Publication Date
September 2014
Publisher
Steidl Verlag
Number of Pages
464
ISBN-10
978-3-86930-534-9
Size
10,24 x 12,99 inch
26 x 33 cm

You may also like

Books

Swet: Book of The Year 2020

Books

Graffiti Cookbook

Books

Invader - @Invaderwashere 10 Years Of Instagram

Books

7 AM [Our Recently Acquired Knowledge] :…

The following 12 pages may interest you as well:

Contact US

David Bailey: Bailey's East End

  • 98,00€

About

"I started shooting in the East End because it was where I was from. I lived there all through the blitz. When I was about three and a half, the flat next door was flattened, so we had to move from Leytonstone to East Ham. I was six and a half when the war ended and quite used to bombsites by then. I’ve never let myself be limited by my background, though. I lived with cannibals for a week and I lived with the Krays for two. That didn’t mean I became a gangster or ate people.

I still walk around the East End. It’s not just about taking pictures there. It’s part of my life. And I can’t think of any reason to stop doing what I do.

The idea for a book on the East End formed sometime in the 1980s. The London Docks had already closed down or were starting to. I chose to shoot mainly in the districts of Silvertown and Canning Town. I have over the years spent many weekends shooting whatever took my fancy. The other two times I had bursts of photographic energy in the East End were in the 1960s and from about 2004 to 2010. These were my three key periods to draw pictures from, instead of just trolling through the last fifty years of archives. In the late 1940s and early 1950s I heard a quote on the radio, ‘Go west, young man.’ At the time I didn’t give it much thought. Later I assumed it was from America and that it went back to the middle of the nineteenth century, when America’s west coast was opening up to great wealth and opportunities."

 

About the photographer: 

David Bailey is one of the most renowned contemporary british photographers. His other photobooks published by Steidl include Havana (2006), NY JS DB 62 (2007), Is That So Kid (2008), Eye (2009), 8 Minutes (2009), and Flowers, Skulls, Contacts (2010).

 

Published in September 2014 by Steidl Verlag, Göttingen

464 pages

26 x 33 cm

Product details

Title
David Bailey: Bailey's East End
Publication Date
September 2014
Publisher
Steidl Verlag
Number of Pages
464
Size
10,24 x 12,99 inch
26 x 33 cm

You may also like

Books

Jeffrey Ladd - A Field Measure Survey of…

Books

Stanley Wolukau-Wanambwa: Dark Mirrors

Books

Hip Hop Coloring Book - West Coast Edition

Books

Futura 2000 Full Frame

The following 12 pages may interest you as well:

Contact US