Diamonds: Moving Cathedral

  • 40,00€

About

Diamonds Moving Cathedrals se concentre principalement sur une série d'œuvres peintes par le crew de graffeurs DIAMONDS sur plusieurs rames de S-Bahn au cours des trois dernières années. 

Le livre présente des photographies des trains peints, avec vues d'ensemble et des détails. Les peintures sont documentées par différents photographes sous différents angles (de l'intérieur, avec les portes ouvertes ou fermées...). 

Un texte écrit collectivement aborde le sujet du processus de création collective et sur l'abandon, de facto, de la souveraineté artistique. Trois essais donnent le point de vue d'un spectateur : Larissa Kikol propose une analyse historique des œuvres, tandis que Tobias Barenthin Lindblad replace la série dans l'histoire du graffiti abstrait, de FUTURA2000 et SKKI au Club de Rome et à AKAY. Emmett Edelstein nous emmène dans un voyage photographique authentique à travers la ville dans l'un des wagons.

Ce livre de 180 pages reprend, tel un catalogue "d'exposition non autorisée" l'ensemble de leurs œuvres éphemères.

DIAMONDS est un crew de graffiti berlinois créé à la fin des années 2000. Les DIAMONDS sont surtout connus pour leurs grandes peintures murales, réalisées collaborativement. En peignant sur les wagons du SBahn, ils ont attiré davantage d'attention que lors de la réalisation des fresques murales. Leurs œuvres abstraites semblent être faites pour les wagons en mouvement et pour la confrontation avec les passagers pendant leur trajet quotidien. Le fait de peindre sur ces surfaces et dans un laps de temps plus limité leur conférant également une certaine authenticité.

180 pages

24,6 cm x 32,6 cm,

Couverture rigide avec gaufrage, différents papiers

Product details

Title
Diamonds: Moving Cathedral
Publication Date
February 2023
Publisher
Hitzerot
Language
German & English
Number of Pages
180
Size
9,69 x 12,83 inch
24.6 x 32.6 cm

You may also like

Books

Delta aka Boris Tellegen: 121/183

Books

Cholo Writing: Latino Gang Graffiti in Los…

Books

Moses & Taps : Post Graffiti - Simply Delivered

Books

Revue Tag #6: Hidden Realms

The following 12 pages may interest you as well:

Contact US

Diamonds: Moving Cathedral

  • 40,00€

About

Diamonds Moving Cathedrals mainly focuses on a series of works painted by the graffiti crew DIAMONDS on several S-Bahn wholecars during the last 3 years. 

The book presents photographs from the painted trains, with close-up and details. The paintings are documented by different photographers from various angles (from inside, with doors open or closed..). 

DIAMONDS is a Berlin based graffiti crew that was created in the late 2000s. The DIAMONDS are best known for their often large collaborative wall productions. By choosing a classic writing surface and format for their activities, the trains got by far more attention as the group’s productions from former years. It turns out the abstract works seem to be made for rolling wagons and confrontation with passengers in everyday traffic. Painting on these surfaces and in a way more limited amount of time might add a certain authenticity to them as well.

A group text provides an insight view into the writers’ thoughts on taking part in the collaborative process and giving up artistic sovereignty at the same time. Three essays allow a spectator’s point of view: Larissa Kikol gives an art historic analysis of the works while Tobias Barenthin Lindblad puts the series in a history of abstract graffiti from FUTURA2000, SKKI to the Club of Rome and AKAY. Emmett Edelstein takes us on an authentic photo trip through the city in one of the wholecars.

The 180-paged book is an in-depth catalogue to non-authorized exhibitions of works that remained only for a few hours. Besides the unique content the book comes with beautiful details like an debossed hardcover, oversize format and two different kinds of paper.

 

Hardcover with debossing, different papers

Product details

Title
Diamonds: Moving Cathedral
Publication Date
February 2023
Publisher
Hitzerot
Language
German & English
Number of Pages
180
Size
9,69 x 12,83 inch
24.6 x 32.6 cm

You may also like

Books

Moses & Taps : Post Graffiti - Simply Delivered

Books

Revue Tag #6: Hidden Realms

Books

Riding Modern Art

Books

Meta.Heavy - Marc Oosting

The following 12 pages may interest you as well:

Contact US