EGS: Writing Stories with Three Letters - Signed Copies

  • 39,90€

About

L'univers de l'artiste visuel finlandais EGS est basé sur l'utilisation des trois lettres de son nom. Qu'il s'agisse de ses dessins à l'encre, du travail lent et précis du verre ou d'un graffiti classique, ces trois lettres sont le fondement de son art et des histoires qu'il raconte.

Tout en exposant ses œuvres dans des musées et des galeries du monde entier (dernièrement à la Kunsthalle d'Helsinki en 2018 et au Musée finlandais du verre à Rihimäki en 2020), EGS continue de peindre des graffitis dans les rues et est devenu une figure importante de la communauté internationale du graffiti.

Dans ce livre, EGS et Tobias Barenthin Lindblad, auteur et archiviste de graffitis, discutent de la pratique d'EGS en studio et dans la rue. Leur conversation porte sur des sujets directement liés aux œuvres d'art présentées dans le livre, mais aussi sur les significations plus profondes et les forces motrices de l'artiste. Comment amener l'énergie de la peinture dans la rue dans un studio ? Comment transposer l'incertitude de la fabrication du verre à la peinture de graffitis dans la rue ? Comment une peinture dans une usine finlandaise abandonnée et une sculpture en verre dans une galerie communiquent-elles ? Un artiste se mesure-t-il à l'aune d'une seule œuvre ou de l'ensemble de ses travaux ? Enfin, un mot dépourvu de sens peut-il avoir un message ?

L'exposition "Writing Stories with Three Letters" se penche sur l'art, la créativité et les théories de l'un des artistes contemporains les plus passionnants des pays nordiques.

 


À propos de l'artiste : 

EGS (né en 1974 à Helsinki, Finlande) a commencé sa carrière à la fin des années 1980. Il a étudié le graffiti en tant que forme d'art : son histoire, ses styles et ses traditions. Ces dernières années, il a cherché à brouiller les frontières entre la rue et le contexte de la galerie et à étendre son expression au-delà du graffiti. En 2018, la Finnish Art Society a invité EGS à présenter une exposition solo à la Kunsthalle Helsinki. C'était la toute première fois qu'un artiste graffeur était invité à organiser une exposition solo dans un musée d'art nordique. Le vernissage a attiré le plus grand nombre de visiteurs dans l'histoire de la Kunsthalle Helsinki, et l'exposition a été vue par plus de 15 000 personnes. Les œuvres d'EGS font partie des principales collections d'art contemporain de Finlande et ont également été exposées dans des galeries et des musées du monde entier. EGS continue de parcourir le monde en peignant dans les rues et les bâtiments abandonnés.

 

Publié par Dokument Press, Stockholm, en avril 2020

Couverture rigide, 160 pages

22 x 26 cm

Anglais

Product details

Title
EGS: Writing Stories with Three Letters - Signed Copies
Size
8,66 x 10,24 x 1,18 inch
22 x 26 x 3 cm

You may also like

Maga+zines

Adrian Robos: Maybe - Signed copy

Books

EGS: This Could Go on Forever

Books

Cholo Writing: Latino Gang Graffiti in Los…

Books

Cleon Peterson: Blood and Soil - Regular…

The following 12 pages may interest you as well:

Contact US

EGS: Writing Stories with Three Letters

  • 39,90€

About

The universe of the Finnish visual artist EGS is grounded in the use of the three letters in his name. Whether it’s his dynamic ink drawings, the slower but even more hard-to-control media of glass or a classic graffiti, those three letters are the fundament of his art and the stories he tells.

While showing works in museums and galleries internationally (lately at the Helsinki’s Kunsthalle in 2018 and at the Finnish Glass Museum in Rihimäki in 2020), EGS still keeps painting graffiti on the streets and has become an important figure in the international graffiti community.

In this book, EGS and graffiti-archivist and author Tobias Barenthin Lindblad discuss EGS’ practice in both studio and in the streets. Their conversation covers topics directly connected to the artwork that is depicted in the book, but also about the deeper meanings and driving forces of being an artist. How does one bring the energy from painting in the street into a studio? How can you bring the uncertainity in making glass into painting graffiti in the street? How do a painting in an abandoned Finnish factory and a glass sculpture in a gallery communicate? Is an artist measured by a single art work or by his or her body of work? And last but not least: can a word without meaning have a message?

"Writing Stories with Three Letters" goes deep into the art, creativity and theories of one of the most exciting contemporary artists from the Nordic countries.


About the artist: 

EGS (b. 1974 in Helsinki, Finland) began his career in the late 1980s. He has studied graffiti as an art form: it's history, styles and tradition. In recent years, he has sought to blur the boundaries between the street and the gallery context and to expand his expression beyond graffiti. In 2018, the Finnish Art Society invited EGS to give a solo exhibition at Kunsthalle Helsinki. This was the first time ever that a graffiti artist had been invited to hold a solo exhibition in a Nordic art museum. The opening drew the largest audience in the history of Kunsthalle Helsinki, and the exhibition was seen by over 15,000 visitors. Works by EGS are included in Finland’s leading collections of contemporary art and they have also been displayed in galleries and museums internationally. EGS still tours the world painting on streets and abandoned buildings.

 

Published by Dokument Press, Stockholm, in April 2020

Hardcover, 160 pages

22 x 26 cm

English

Product details

Title
EGS: Writing Stories with Three Letters
Dimensions
22 x 26 x 3 cm

You may also like

Books

Hip Hop Coloring Book - West Coast Edition

Books

Hip-Hop Coloring Book - East Cost edition

Editions

Marina Mika x Mr. Paradox Paradise: Spiritual…

Mr. Paradox Paradise

Marina Mika x Mr. Paradox Paradise: Spiritual…

The following 12 pages may interest you as well:

Contact us