Futura: The artist's Monograph

  • 65,00€

About

Die detaillierteste und umfassendste Übersicht über das Leben und die Karriere eines der bahnbrechenden Künstler der ursprünglichen Graffiti-Generation.


Futura, der seinen grafischen Stil in den späten 1970er Jahren beim Bemalen von New Yorker U-Bahnen entwickelt hatte, gehörte in den frühen 1980er Jahren zu den ersten Graffiti-Künstlern, die in zeitgenössischen Galerien ausgestellt wurden, wo seine Bilder neben Werken von Keith Haring, Jean-Michel Basquiat und Kenny Scharf zu sehen waren. Als die Kommerzialisierung der Straßenkultur in den 1990er Jahren zu Kooperationen mit Mode- und Lifestyle-Marken führte, entwickelte sich Futuras Werk zu einem verfeinerten Ausdruck seines abstrakten Graffiti-Stils. Aufträge von Marken wie A Bathing Ape, Stüssy, Supreme und Mo' Wax führten dazu, dass seine Arbeiten zu einem festen Bestandteil der Straßenästhetik wurden.

Neben nie zuvor veröffentlichten Reproduktionen früherer Gemälde und Zeichnungen ist hier ein Archiv mit persönlichen Fotografien und Ephemera versammelt, das zeigt, wie wichtig Futura für die Entwicklung der Straßenkunst und -kultur war. Mit Interviews mit Schlüsselfiguren in Futuras Karriere ist dieses Buch gleichzeitig eine definitive Monografie über eine Legende der zeitgenössischen Kunst und ein unverzichtbares Kapitel in der Geschichte des Graffiti.

 

Über den Autor


Futura ist ein Künstler, der in New York geboren und aufgewachsen ist. Seine Karriere begann in den 1970er Jahren unter dem Namen Futura 2000. In den vergangenen Jahrzehnten hat sich seine Arbeit von U-Bahn-Waggons auf bildende Kunst und kommerzielle Kooperationen mit Marken wie Nike, Supreme, Undercover und Virgil Abloh ausgeweitet. Er lebt und arbeitet in Brooklyn, New York.

 

Autor: Futura, Beiträge von Virgil Abloh, Agnès b sowie Jeffrey Dietch und Takashi Murakami

Product details

Title
Futura: The artist's Monograph
Publication Date
October 2020
Publisher
Rizzoli
Number of Pages
256
ISBN-10
978-0-8478-6602-1
Size
9,02 x 11,81 inch
22.9 x 30 cm

You may also like

Books

Moses & Taps : Post Graffiti - Simply Delivered

Books

Issa Franke: Hip-Hop – die vergessene Generation…

Books

Cholo Writing: Latino Gang Graffiti in Los…

Books

Tristan Manco: Make Your Mark - The New Urban…

The following 12 pages may interest you as well:

Contact US

Futura: The artist's Monograph

  • 65,00€

About

The most in-depth and comprehensive survey of the life and career of one of the pioneering artists of the original graffiti generation.


Having forged his graphic style painting subways in New York in the late 1970s, Futura was among the first graffiti artists to be shown in contemporary galleries in the early 1980s, where his paintings shared space with works by Keith Haring, Jean-Michel Basquiat, and Kenny Scharf. As the commercialization of street culture in the 1990s inspired collaborations with fashion and lifestyle brands, Futura's work moved toward a more refined expression of his abstract graffiti style. Commissions from era-defining brands such as A Bathing Ape, Stüssy, Supreme, and Mo' Wax saw his artwork canonized as an elemental component of the street aesthetic.

Collected here, among never-before-published reproductions of earlier paintings and drawings, is an archive of personal photography and ephemera that reveals how integral Futura has been to the evolution of street art and culture. Guided through more than forty years of work, and with interviews with key players in Futura's career, this is at once a definitive monograph of a legend of contemporary art and an indispensable chapter in the history of graffiti.

 

About The Author

Futura is a street artist born and raised in New York. His career began in the 1970s under the moniker Futura 2000; in the decades since, his work has expanded from subway cars into fine art and commercial collaborations with brands from Nike to Supreme, Undercover, and Virgil Abloh. He lives and works in Brooklyn, New York.

 

Author: Futura, contributions by Virgil Abloh, Agnès, Jeffrey Dietch and Takashi Murakami

 

Hardcover book

Product details

Title
Futura: The artist's Monograph
Publication Date
October 2020
Publisher
Rizzoli
Number of Pages
256
ISBN-10
978-0-8478-6602-1
Size
9,02 x 11,81 inch
22.9 x 30 cm

You may also like

Books

Tristan Manco: Make Your Mark - The New Urban…

Books

Micro Tattoos The World’s Top Fine Line Tattoo…

Books

Rubae

Books

Revue Tag #4: Obsessions

The following 12 pages may interest you as well:

Contact US