Henriette Sabroe Ebbesen: Self Reflection

  • 40,00€

About

Die dänische Fotografin Henriette Sabroe Ebbesen verwischt in ihrer ersten Monografie Self Reflection die Grenze zwischen Fotografie und Malerei, Realität und Fantasie bei der Erkundung des menschlichen Körpers und des unterbewussten Selbst. 

Spiegel, Reflexionen und Illusionen sind einige von Ebbesens fotografischen Werkzeugen, mit denen sie untersucht, wie der menschliche Körper und Geist vom Betrachter visualisiert und interpretiert werden können. Die verzerrten Materialien, die im gesamten Buch verwendet werden, lassen die Grenzen zwischen Fotografie und Malerei verschwimmen und bilden eine symbolische Grenze zwischen Realität und Fantasie. Indem er die Natur, den nackten Körper, Früchte und Blumen in einen surrealen Kontext stellt, schafft Ebbesen einen Zusammenstoß zwischen dem Vertrauten und dem Ungewöhnlichen. Die Verzerrungen entstehen immer in der Kamera, indem sie durch verschiedene Spiegelungen fotografiert werden und niemals mit Photoshop oder künstlicher Intelligenz, wodurch die Realität nahe am Surrealen bleibt.

Als ausgebildete Ärztin interessiert sich Ebbesen für die Schnittstelle zwischen Kunst und Wissenschaft. Ihre Studien der Psyche, der Sinne und des Körpers finden sich in vielen ihrer Werke wieder, von zerfetzten Gesichtern und verdrehten nackten Körpern bis hin zu Selbstporträts und Stillleben.

 

Über die Künstlerin

Henriette Sabroe Ebbesen (geb. 1994) ist eine autodidaktische Fotografin und Filmregisseurin aus Kopenhagen, Dänemark. Ebbesens Arbeiten wurden an vielen Orten in Europa und den Vereinigten Staaten ausgestellt und sie hat für Zeitschriften wie Vanity Fair und Vogue gearbeitet. Self Reflection wird mit Unterstützung des Fotografiska Museum Stockholm veröffentlicht und begleitet ihre kürzlich eröffnete Einzelausstellung "Kaleidoscope". Henriette ist Teil des European Futures Photography Programms 2024.

 

Softcover mit französisch gefalteten Seiten und Spiegelschutzumschlag

24 x 30 cm

94 / 188 Seiten

63 Farbtafeln

Vorwort auf Englisch von Lisa Giomar Hydén, Direktorin für Ausstellungen, Fotografiska Stockholm

Auflage von 800 Stück

Veröffentlicht am 14. März 2024 von Disko Bay Editions

Product details

Title
Henriette Sabroe Ebbesen: Self Reflection
Publisher
Disko Bay Editions
ISBN-10
978-87-973526-8-7

You may also like

Books

Issa Franke: Hip-Hop – die vergessene Generation…

Books

Delta aka Boris Tellegen: 121/183

Books

Cholo Writing: Latino Gang Graffiti in Los…

Books

Moses & Taps : Post Graffiti - Simply Delivered

The following 12 pages may interest you as well:

Contact US

Henriette Sabroe Ebbesen: Self Reflection

  • 40,00€

About

The Danish photographer Henriette Sabroe Ebbesen blurs the line between photography and painting, reality and fantasy in an exploration of the human body and the subconscious self in her first monograph Self Reflection. 

Mirrors, reflections and illusions are some of Ebbesen’s photographic tools, where she examines how the human body and mind can be visualized and interpreted by the viewer. The distorted materials, used throughout the book, blur the lines between photography and painting, providing a symbolic boundary between reality and imagination. By placing nature, the nude body, fruits and flowers in a surreal context, Ebbesen creates a clash between the familiar and the odd. The distortions are always created in camera by photographing through various reflections and never by using Photoshop or AI, thus keeping reality close to the surreal.

Formally educated as a Medical Doctor, Ebbesen is interested in the intersection between art and science. Her studies of the psyche, the senses, and the body are seen in many of her works from tattered faces and contorted naked bodies to self-portraits and still life’s.

 

About the Artist

Henriette Sabroe Ebbesen (b. 1994) is an autodidact photographer and film director from Copenhagen, Denmark. Ebbesen’s works have been exhibited in many places in both Europe and the United States and she has worked for magazines such as Vanity Fair and Vogue. Self Reflection is published with support from Fotografiska Museum Stockholm to accompany her recently opened solo exhibition ‘Kaleidoscope’. Henriette is a part of the European Futures Photography program in 2024.

 

Softcover with French-fold pages and mirror dust jacket

24 x 30 cm

94 / 188 pages

63 colour plates

Foreword in English by Lisa Giomar Hydén, Director of Exhibitions, Fotografiska Stockholm

Edition of 800

Published in 14 March 2024 by Disko Bay Editions

Product details

Title
Henriette Sabroe Ebbesen: Self Reflection
Publisher
Disko Bay Editions
ISBN-10
978-87-973526-8-7

You may also like

Books

Issa Franke: Hip-Hop – die vergessene Generation…

Books

Delta aka Boris Tellegen: 121/183

Books

Cholo Writing: Latino Gang Graffiti in Los…

Books

Moses & Taps : Post Graffiti - Simply Delivered

The following 12 pages may interest you as well:

Contact US