Thomas Ruff: Works 1979-2010

  • 59,00€

About

Thomas Ruff ist ein Meister der konzeptuellen Serienfotografie. Dieser Band präsentiert ausgewählte Werke aus allen seinen Serien seit 1979: seine kleinen Innenräume und großen Porträts, seine Architekturfotos und Sternenhimmel, die abstrakten Substrate, seine berühmten Akte aus pornografischem Internetmaterial sowie seine neueste Serie Stellar Landscapes aus dem Jahr 2012 (ausgestellt im Landesmuseum für Kunst und Kuturgeschichte, Münster).

Über den Fotografen:

Thomas Ruff (* 1958 in Zell am Harmersbach) ist ein deutscher Fotograf, der in Düsseldorf lebt und arbeitet. Ruff studierte von 1977 bis 1985 Fotografie an der renommierten Staatlichen Kunstakademie in Düsseldorf bei Bernd & Hilla Becher und Petra Wunderlich. Ruffs Gemälde sind bemerkenswert für ihre Größe und perfekte Technik. In den letzten 30 Jahren hat sich der Künstler kontinuierlich mit formalen und technischen Aspekten der analogen und digitalen Fotografie befasst. Für verschiedene Serien übernahm er auch fremde Materialien, die er verarbeitete und in die bildende Kunst einführte.

Thomas Ruff war Gegenstand zahlreicher internationaler Einzelausstellungen, darunter kürzlich Object Relations in der Art Gallery of Ontario in Toronto, eine Umfrage im National Museum of Modern Art in Tokio und im 21st Century Museum of Contemporary Art in Kanazawa, sowohl 2016 als auch 2016 Thomas Ruff: Lichten im Stedelijk Museum für Actuele Kunst (SMAK) in Gent im Jahr 2014. Ruff wurde kürzlich als Finalist für den Prix Pictet Fotografiepreis ausgewählt.

 

Mit Text von Okwui Enwezor, Thomas Weski und Valeria Liebermann.

Monographie / Ausstellungskatalog anlässlich der Retrospektive von Thomas Ruff im Haus der Kunst, München (Februar bis Mai 2012).

272 Seiten, 202 Tafeln, 8 Abbildungen, Hardcover.

englische / deutsche Ausgabe.

Product details

Title
Thomas Ruff: Works 1979-2010
Publisher
Schirmer/Mosel Verlag
Size
11,22 x 11,81 inch
28.5 x 30 cm

You may also like

Books

BLU: Minima Muralia

Books

MadC - Street to Canvas

Books

RACHE - The Art of Rage

Books

Alëxone Dizac, à coeur ouvert

The following 12 pages may interest you as well:

Contact US

Thomas Ruff: Works 1979-2010

  • 59,00€

About

Thomas Ruff is a master of conceptual serial photography. This volume presents works from all his series since 1979: his small interiors and large portraits. His architectural photos and starry Skies, the abstract substrata, his famous nudes created from pornographic internet material, as well as his series in 2012, Stellar Landscapes (exhibited at the Landesmuseum für Kunst und Kulturegeschichte, Munster).

About the Photographer

Thomas Ruff (b. 1958 in Zell am Harmersbach, Germany) is a German photographer who lives and works in Düsseldorf. Ruff studied photography from 1977 to 1985 at the renowned Staatliche Kunstakademie in Düsseldorf with Bernd & Hilla Becherand Petra Wunderlich. Ruff’s paintings are remarkable for their size and perfect technique. In the past 30 years, the artist has continuously taken on formal as well as technical aspects of analogue and digital photography. And for various series, he also adopted foreign materials that he processed and introduced to the visual arts.

Thomas Ruff has been the subject of numerous solo exhibitions internationally, including recently Object Relations at the Art Gallery of Ontario in Toronto, a survey at the National Museum of Modern Art, Tokyo and 21st Century Museum of Contemporary Art, Kanazawa both also in 2016 and Thomas Ruff: Lichten at the Stedelijk Museum voor Actuele Kunst (S.M.A.K.) in Ghent in 2014. Ruff was recently selected as a finalist for the Prix Pictet photography award.

 

With text by Okwui Enwezor, Thomas Weski and Valeria Liebermann

Monograph/Exhibition Catalogue on the occasion of the Thomas Ruff retrospective at the Haus der Kunst, München (February to May 2012).

272 pages, 202 plates, 8 illustrations, hardcover, English / German edition.

Product details

Title
Thomas Ruff: Works 1979-2010
Publisher
Schirmer/Mosel Verlag
Size
11,22 x 11,81 inch
28.5 x 30 cm

You may also like

Books

Jeffrey Ladd - A Field Measure Survey of…

Books

Martha Cooper Henry Chalfant: Subway Art

Books

Stanley Wolukau-Wanambwa: Dark Mirrors

Books

Hip Hop Coloring Book - West Coast Edition

The following 12 pages may interest you as well:

Contact US